OLR Header Higher

Welcome to Our Lady of Refuge Parish!

 

20160820 095305

 

Thanks to everyone who helped on our new gardening project!

This new garden will help save water with drought tollerant plans and drip irrigation

see more photos here!

 


Celebrating Ordinary Time

 

   We are a Roman Catholic faith community in the Archdiocese of Los Angeles. As a parish family we strive to continue the work of Christ by proclaiming and living the Gospel, celebrating the Eucharist and Sacraments, and sharing God’s love through lives of prayer, service and stewardship. We invite you to join our parish community by following the links above.

This Week in the Parish Highlight

THIS SUNDAY!  Annual Parish Summer Picnic

Sunday, August 28th, 12:30 pm to 3:00 pm

Stearns Champions Park (this year at the North end of the park off 23rd St)

Enjoy a grilled hot dog while sharing your Summer stories with your parish family!

 

Boomers Plus Luncheon

Saturday, September 10th, 12:00 noon to 2:00 pm in the Cafeteria

Food, games, and fellowship for those who are 50 or older...

 

Annual Ice Cream Social

Saturday, September 10th, 6:30 pm to 8:30 pm in the parking lot

Hot dogs, hamburgers, salad, drinks, and of course... Ice Cream!  Fun for the whole family!

Mass Times

Saturdays
8:00am, 5:30pm (Sunday Vigil)
Sundays
8:00am, 9:30am, 11:30am & 5:30pm
Monday-Friday
8:00am (daily)
Holy Days
5:30pm (Vigil), 8:00am & 5:30pm
Reconciliation
Saturdays 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Eucharistic Adoration
First Fridays 7:00am - 8:00am
October through June

Parish Information

Address
5195 Stearns Street 
Long Beach, CA 90815
Office Phone (562) 498-6641
Office Fax (562) 498-3344
Parish School (562) 597-0819
Office of Religious Education (562) 597-3102

Events

  • Sun Aug 28 - Annual Parish Picnic @ Stearns Park
  • Fri Sep 2 - Sun Sep 4 - SCRC Convention 2016
  • Sun Sep 4 - Canonization of St Theresa of Calcutta
  • Mon Sep 5 - Labor Day (all OLR offices closed)
  • Thu Sep 8 - VIRTUS® refresh training 6:30 pm-8:00 pm
  • Thu Sep 8 - Adult Faith Formation & RCIA sessions restart 7pm - 9pm
  • Sat Sep 10 - Parish Ice Cream Social 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
  • Sun Sep 11 - VIRTUS® refresh training 6:30 pm-8:00 pm
  • Sun Sep 18 - Catechetical Sunday 9:30 Mass and reception
  • Mon Sep 12 - Elementary RE begins
  • Tue Sep 20 - Jr. High RE begins
  • Tue Sep 20 - High School RE & Confirmation begins
  • Wed Sep 21 - OLR School General PTO Meeting
  • Sun Sep 25 - 3-4-5 year old RE begins
  • Sun Oct 2 - 1st Sunday Family Mass 9:30 am
  • Tue Oct 4 - Feast of St Francis of Assisi
  • Sun Oct 9 - Guest Speaker Series
  • Fri Oct 14 - OLR School Jog-a-thon
  • Fri Oct 28 - OLR School Holiday
  • Mon Oct 31 - Happy Halloween!